Working to Build Stronger Communities

A woman speaking in front of audience

Our Leadership

Springboard is led by a diverse management team and governed by a board of directors, made up of community leaders and key decision makers who provide vision, strategic leadership and accountability. Together, with the help of our patrons and advisors, we work towards our mission of building stronger communities.

Board of Directors

Mr. Elgin Farewell – President and Chair of the Board and Executive Committee
President & CEO, Teranet Inc.

Ms. Fran Grant – Secretary, Treasurer and Chair of the Finance Committee
Assistant Deputy Minister, Ontario Public Service (retired)

Ms. Clara Greco – Chair of the Program Committee
Project Manager, Electricity Production, Lower Mattagami River Project

Ms. Lori B. Montague – Chair of the Nominating Committee
Deputy Crown Attorney, Ontario Court of Justice, Brampton

Ms. Susan Steer – Chair of the Human Resources Committee
Sr. HR Leader, Capgemini Canada

Ms. Wendy Leaver – Program Committee
Co Founder, Special Victims Unit, Toronto Police Service (Retired)

Ms. Lan Nguyen – Program Committee
Deputy Chief Information Officer, City of Toronto

Mr. Vince Scaramuzza
Criminal Defense Attorney, Sole Practitioner

Ms. Demetra Streda
Vice-President Commercial Financial Services – Real Estate Markets, RBC

Ms. Debra Preston
Superintendent, Disciplinary Hearings Officer, Toronto Police Service

Mr. Jeff King
Partner, Accounting Advisory Services, KPMG LLP

Ms. Deborah Newman
Distinguished Visiting Professor, Ryerson University, Former Deputy Minister, Ontario Public Service

Ms. Margaret Stanowski
Executive Director, Springboard



The Honourable R. Roy McMurtry
former Chief Justice of Ontario

The Honourable Mr. Justice David P. Cole
Ontario Court of Justice, Toronto

The Honourable Consiglio DiNino
former Canadian Senator

Ms. Bonnie Foster
former Vice President, Corporate Communications and
Government Relations, Teranet Inc.

Mr. Don Harrison
former Chairman, William Dunne & Associates

Dr. Fredric L. R. Jackman
President, Invicta Investments Inc.

The Honourable Mr. Justice Peter Jarvis
Superior Court of Justice, Toronto

Mr. Aris Kaplanis
former President and CEO, Teranet Inc.

Mr. M. George Lewis
Group Head, RBC Wealth Management

The Toronto Blue Jays


Advisory Board

Ms. Susan Addario

Mr. David Arbuckle

Mr. Jeff Arbus

Mr. Wayne Barrett

Mr. Sandy Bozzo

Mr. Barry Clayton

Mr. Arthur Daniels

Mr. Kim Derry

The Honourable Mr. Justice Norm Dyson

Mr. Michael Eagan

The Honourable Dan Ferguson

Mr. Harold Fisher

Mr. D. Robert Grant

Mr. Blain Hicks

Ms. Sandra G. Leonard

Mr. Paul Manna

Ms. Cindy Nowina

Mr. Steven Reesor

Mr. Rick Reid

Ms. Dawna Speers

Mr. John Stall

Mr. Scot Wortley

Mr. Morris Zbar

Ms. Melanie Goldhar

Mr. Brad Lambert




Marg Stanowski
Executive Director

Marg Stanowski has been the Executive Director of Springboard since 1992 and has led the organization through significant growth and expansion in a rapidly changing environment. Prior to joining Springboard, Marg was a Professor of Law and Security at St. Clair College, the Executive Director of Volunteer Ontario and was one of Canada’s earlier female parole officers. Marg is a passionate and award winning community volunteer. She currently serves on several Boards of Directors, including the national board for MADD Canada, the Ontario Nonprofit Network, ProAction Cops and Kids, the Rotary Club of Toronto and the Rotary Club of Toronto’s Foundation Board. Marg was a special award winner at the 2007 Mayor Safety Awards in the City of Toronto and is a Paul Harris Fellow and a recipient of the William A. Peace Award from Rotary International. Marg holds a Bachelor of Social Work and has completed an array of courses and certificates over the years, including the Executive Leadership Program at Queen’s University.


Anna Peters

Anna Peters
Director, Finance, IT and Facilities

Anna joined Springboard in 2007 as Controller, and was appointed Director, Finance, IT and Facilities in April 2015. Anna holds a Bachelor’s and a Master’s degree in Finance and Economics and began her career teaching accounting and finance at the University level. She has gained extensive experience in the non-profit sector working previously with Ontario March of Dimes and Goodwill Industries of Toronto where she held progressively senior finance positions.  Anna is committed to giving back to the community. She is a member of the Grants Committee for ProAction Cops & Kids Foundation and provides support to Ontario Not-for-profit Network (ONN) in advancing long term funding reform for transfer payment agencies.


Raphael silver

Rafael Silver
Director, Organization and Business Development

Rafael Silver recently joined the leadership team at Springboard as the Director, Organizational and Business Development. Rafi came to us with a rich background in community development, fundraising and senior level management positions in the non-profit sector.  His career has taken him to the Middle East, Latin America as well as the United States and Canada and he holds a Masters in Social Work and a Masters in Rural Planning and Development. Rafi brings with him both local and international experience and a wide range of skills from  the development of social enterprises and community foundations to leading multi-sector task forces and new policy initiatives. 

Translate »