Gregory Kelsie


Tell me a bit about yourself. 

I was born and raised in Toronto and lived here my entire life. I'm 25 years old and I graduated from the University of Toronto with a BBA specializing in information technology. I specialized in information technology because I love all things computers. I like to code in my spare time, build PCs, and use all sorts of software. I enjoy watching a wide variety of movies and TV series. Genres I usually gravitate to are: science-fictions, psychological thrillers, comedies and action. I also like to take part in sports and physical activity when the weather is right. Basketball, soccer, biking and swimming are my top four activities to do in the summer. My guilty pleasures are watching anime and late night gaming.

What is your business idea?

At its core, my idea is an app developing business. Initially I want to release a fitness social media app that provides a medium for people to share their fitness experience with each other. This includes shareable workout routines, schedules, pictures, and an option to meet up with people looking for workout partners. After the release, I'll focus on maintenance and develop apps for customers and small businesses.

What keeps you up at night?

It depends. If I'm working on an app, I'm usually kept up trying to finish implementing a feature or I'm trying to get as much done as possible before I go to bed. If I'm not coding, I could be up watching videos on YouTube or gaming.

What was the best piece of advice you ever received?

Don't dwell in the past, life goes on.

What was the worst piece of advice you ever received?

Never give up. Not giving up can be great in some scenarios, but sometimes it's best to assess the pros and cons of the situation and cut your losses if the cons significantly outweigh the benefits.